And the AQR Top Finance Graduate Award winners 2015 are…

CBS hosted The AQR Top Finance Graduate Award at CBS anno 2015 Thursday, June 11, 2015 and the 6 winners came to Copenhagen Business School to present their research

Pictures from the AQR Top Finance Graduate Award at CBS

From right to left: David Lando, Lawrence Jin, Svetlana Bryzgalova, Benjamin Hebert, Emil Siriwardane, Sabrina Howell, Lawrence Schmidt, Lasse Heje Pedersen
Winners 2015

CBS hosted the ‘AQR Top Finance Graduate Award at CBS’ on Thursday June 11, 2015 and the 6 winners were in Copenhagen to present their research. This is the third time the award is presented to the best of the upcoming crop of PhD graduates within the field of financial economics.

The 2015 winners and their presentations

  • Svetlana Bryzgalova, PhD from London School of Economics: Spurious Factors in Linear Asset Pricing Models
  • Benjamin Hébert, PhD from Harvard University: Moral Hazard and the Optimality of Debt
  • Sabrina Howell, PhD from Harvard University: Financing Constraints as Barriers to Innovation: Evidence from R&D Grants to Energy Startups
  • Lawrence Jin, PhD from Yale School of Management: A Speculative Asset Pricing Model of Financial Instability
  • Lawrence Schmidt, PhD from University of California, San Diego: Climbing and Falling Off the Ladder: Asset Pricing Implications of Labor Market Event Risk
  • Emil Siriwardane, PhD from NYU Stern School of Business: Concentrated Capital Losses and the Pricing of Corporate Credit Risk

AQR Top Finance Graduate Award 2015 collage

Award selection committee

  • Nicholas Barberis, Yale University, School of Management
  • Patrick Bolton, Columbia University, Graduate School of Business and Department of Economics
  • John Campbell, Harvard University, Department of Economics
  • Darrell Duffie, Stanford University, Graduate School of Business
  • Ralph Koijen, London Business School
  • Toby Moskowitz, University of Chicago, Booth School of Business
  • Lasse H. Pedersen (Chair), Copenhagen Business School and New York University


Find more information about the previous award ceremonies here: Top Finance Graduate Award 2014 and Top Finance Graduate Award 2013.

Read about the media coverage of the event here (in Danish)

The page was last edited by: Center for Financial Frictions // 07/11/2023