PhD defence: Kathrine Møller Solgaard




In order to obtain the PhD degree, Kathrine Møller Solgaard has submitted her thesis entitled:


Who to hire? A situated study of employee selection as routine, practice, and process


This PhD dissertation examines how employee selection is mediated by ideals, tools, and criteria based on an ethnographic study across multiple organizations. Prior research has demonstrated that employee selectors rarely adopt the “best practice” approach established by psychometric research. Yet little is known about why selectors refrain from following research-based recommendations, or how they conduct employee selection instead. With this analytical tension as a backdrop, the dissertation comprises three papers conceptualizing employee selection as a routine, practice, and process, respectively, to investigate how the actions of selectors unfold and are mediated by different cultural means. Together, the three studies indicate that selection ideals, tools, and criteria carry with them a scientific rationality that may challenge the situated enactments of employee selection.


Primary Supervisor: Professor Jesper Strandgaard Pedersen Department of Organization Copenhagen Business School


Secondary Supervisors:
Professor Morten Nissen
Danish School of Education - Educational Psychology
Aarhus University

Associate Professor
Frans Bévort
Department of Organization
Copenhagen Business School


Assessment Committee:
Associate Professor
Johan Simonsen Abildgaard (Chair)
Department of Organization
Copenhagen Business School

Professor of Human Resource Management
Emma Parry
Cranfield School of Management
Cranfield University

Astrid Reichel
Department of Business
University of Salzburg


Thesis: The thesis will be available from


Reception: The CBS PhD School will host a reception, which will take place immediately after the defence in  the kitchen area of IOA (4th floor).


Organised by

CBS PhD School


31 March 2023




Copenhagen Business School Kilen 2000 Frederiksberg Room: Ks54


The page was last edited by: Department of Organization // 03/24/2023