Getting beyond groupthink and enable smarter decision-making by boards

Friday, May 20, 2016 - 16:00 to 18:00

The Board Leadership Society invites to conference:

Getting beyond groupthink and enable smarter decision-making by boards

Friday 20 May 2016, 4 pm - 6 pm followed by a reception. CBS, Ovnhallen, Porcelaenshaven 20, 2000 Frederiksberg


Harvard Professor Cass R. Sunstein


Chairman Ole Andersen and Steen Riisgaard; CBS Professors Lucia Reisch, Mette Morsing and Steen Thomsen



Best practice in decision-making by corporate boards

Professor Cass R. Sunstein will present his research on how behavioral psychology affects group decisions – often negatively. Chairman Ole Andersen (Danske Bank i.a.) and Steen Riisgaard (Egmont i.a.) introduce and discuss best practices to enhance decision-making by corporate boards. Professor Steen Thomsen put the discussion into perspective of Danish corporate governance research. Professors Lucia Reisch and Mette Morsing facilitate the panel discussion.



Welcome and setting the scene

By Professor Lucia Reisch, CBS Centre for Corporate Social Responsibility


Getting beyond groupthink to make groups smarter

By Professor Cass. R. Sunstein, Harvard Law University, Honorary Doctor, CBS


Making Boards Smarter

By Chairman Steen Riisgaard, i.a. Egmont, ALK-Abelló, COWI, and Chairman Ole Andersen, i.a. Danske Bank, Chr. Hansen, B&O


Panel Discussion

Discussants: Cass. R. Sunstein, Steen Riisgaard, Ole Andersen, Professor Steen Thomsen. Facilitators: Professors Lucia Reisch and Mette Morsing


Concluding Remarks

Cass. R. Sunstein and Steen Thomsen

18:00 Reception


Please register your attendance by e-mail to:


Keynote speaker and discussants

Cass R. Sunstein
Mr. Sunstein is University Professor at Harvard. From 2009 to 2012 Mr. Sunstein was the Administrator of the White House Office of Information and Regulatory Affairs. Today he serves as advisor to President Barack Obama’s second term in office. He has contributed to congressional committees on many subjects, and he has been involved in constitution-making and law-reform activities in a number of nations. At Harvard Law School, Professor Sunstein founded and directs the Program on Behavioral Economics and Public Policy. Mr. Sunstein is author of hundreds of articles and almost 50 books, including bestsellers such as: Nudge: Improving Decisions about Health, Wealth, and Happiness (with Richard H. Thaler, 2008), and Wiser: Getting beyond groupthink to make groups smarter (with Reid Hastie, 2014). Professor Sunstein has an honorary doctorate with Department of Intercultural Communication and Management, CBS.

Ole Andersen 
Ole Andersen is chairman of Danske Bank, Chr. Hansen and B&O i.a. Ole Andersen is member of NASDAQ OMX Nordic Nomination Committee and of Committee of Good Governance. Ole Andersen is a co-founder of Board Leadership Society in Denmark and a highly valued faculty at CBS Board Leadership Masterclass. Also, Ole Andersen is adjunct professor at CBS Center for Corporate Governance and instrumental in the development of board leadership and board dynamics into an academic discipline.

Steen Riisgaard 
Mr. Steen Riisgaard is the chairman of Egmont, ALK-Abello and Cowi and vice-president of the Novo Nordisk Foundation and the Villum Foundation. Further, Steen Riisgaard is chairman of WWF in Denmark and member of the board at Aarhus University i.a. Steen Riisgaard served 13 years as president and CEO of Novozymes A/S.

Steen Thomsen
Mr. Steen Thomsen is Professor at Center for Corporate Governance, CBS. Steen Thomsen has specialized in corporate governance and board practices - as teacher, researcher, consultant and commentator. Steen Thomsen has contributed to the development of the board leadership discipline at CBS, within The Board Leadership Society in Denmark and Internationally. Steen Thomsen is academic director and member of the board of the Board Leadership Society.

Lucia Reisch
Ms. Reisch is Professor at Department for Intercultural Communication and Management, CBS. Lucia Reisch holds a permanent guest professorship at the Zeppelin University of Friedrichshafen, Germany. Lucia Reisch is member of the German Council for Sustainable Development and elected lifelong member of Germany’s Academy of Technical Sciences. Professor Reisch is member of CBS Centre for Corporate Social Responsibility.

Mette Morsing
Ms. Morsing is Professor at Department of Intercultural Communication and Management, CBS. Mette Morsing is the founding director of CBS Centre for Corporate Social Responsibility and founding member of the Academy of Business in Society (ABIS) in Bruxelles. Mette Morsing is co-director of the CBS Sustainability Platform and distinguished visiting Professor at Royal Holloway, University of London. Mette Morsing serves at the Boards of the Lego Foundation and the Claus Meyer Foundation.

The page was last edited by: Department of Management, Society and Communication // 12/17/2017