European Think Tank Conference 2018: EU AND THE FUTURE OF DEMOCRACY

Friday, November 16, 2018 - 09:00 to 11:30

European Think Tank Conference 2018: EU AND THE FUTURE OF DEMOCRACY

What is the future for representative democracy in Europe? Traditional parties and established institutions in Europe are in a crisis with growing dissatisfaction and distrust among voters, but what are the solutions?

Can next year’s election for the European Parliament engage citizens in an open conversation about the future of Europe and lead to a revitalization of democracy?

At this conference leading think tankers from around Europe gather to discuss the current trends with Danish politicians about how to overcome the current crisis.

Furthermore the think tanks 2CU Erasmus+ network will also launch their new book on "The State of Direct Democracy in the EU".

Think Tank EUROPA is hosting this event in partnership with the 2CU Erasmus+ network and the Department of International Economics, Government and Business, CBS


Date: 16. November 2018, 9:00-11.30am

Place: Copenhagen Business School, Solbjerg Plads, Auditorium SP201, 2000 Frederiksberg

To participate, please register here


9:00-9:10: Welcome speech by Catharina Sørensen, Head of Research at Think Tank EUROPA

9:10-9:25: Is there a crisis of representative democracy in Europe? Martin Lidegaard, MP and former Minister of Foreign Affairs.

9:25-9:45: The State of Direct Democracy in the EU Book launch with:Steven Blockmanns, Head of EU foreign policy at CEPS and Professor of EU External Relations Law and Governance at the University of Amsterdam and Richard Youngs, Senior Fellow at Carnegie Europe.

9:45-10:45: The European Parliament and the elections in 2019 Roundtable with: Maja Kluger Dionigi, Senior Researcher, EUROPA, Anne Mette Vestergaard, Head of EP Office in Denmark, Agata Gostyńska-Jakubowska, Center for European Reform and Pavol Baboš, Slovak Foreign Policy Association

10:45-11:30:  The contribution of the EP in democratising Europe Round table with: Pernille Weiss (Conservative Party), Jeppe Kofod (The Socialdemocratic Party), Rasmus Nordqvist (Alternativet) and Eva Flyvholm (Unity List)

11:30 Closing of the event

The page was last edited by: Department of International Economics, Government and Business // 10/08/2019