AQR Top Finance Graduate Award Winners Announced

Leading PhD graduates from around the world honoured at Copenhagen Business School - see who this year's winners of the 2016 AQR Top Finance Graduate Award at CBS are...


AQR Top Finance Graduate Award 2016
AQR Top Finance Graduate Award 2016 winnners

Copenhagen Business School and AQR Capital Management, LLC (AQR) today announced the winners of the 2016 AQR Top Finance Graduate Award. Six PhD students from leading universities around the world are this year’s award recipients.

The 2016 Winners

  • Asaf Bernstein, MIT Sloan School of Business
  • Arpit Gupta, Columbia School of Business
  • Elisabeth Kempf, Tilburg University
  • Song Ma, Duke University’s Fuqua School of Business
  • David Schoenherr, London Business School
  • Michael Schwert, Stanford Graduate School of Business

Now in its fourth year, the AQR Top Finance Graduate Award at Copenhagen Business School (CBS) recognizes those PhD graduates whose dissertation and broader research carry the greatest potential impact in both practice and academia. Winners are determined by a committee of renowned academics.

“We are pleased to once again recognize the most promising PhD students from around the world through this award,” said David Kabiller, CFA, Founding Principal at AQR Capital Management, the sponsor of the award. “We congratulate them on this accomplishment, and look forward to all they will achieve in their careers.”

The committee is chaired by AQR Principal and professor at the Copenhagen Business School Lasse Heje Pedersen, and they conduct an independent search of business schools and economic departments across the globe to seek out top candidates for the award. Candidates cannot apply for the annual award and the winners share a prize of $10,000.

“We are excited to welcome this amazing group of young creative minds from all over the world,” said Lasse H. Pedersen. “Their research provides new, important insights on a broad range of topics. We are delighted to present the 2016 AQR Top Finance Graduate Award to these six talented Ph.D. students.”

The winners will present their research on 30 May at an event hosted by the Center for Financial Frictions (FRIC) and the Department of Finance at Copenhagen Business School. To attend, register here.
Deadline for registration is May 23, 2016.

Award Selection Committee:

    Nicholas Barberis,
Yale University, School of Management
    Patrick Bolton, Columbia University
    Darrell Duffie, Stanford University, Graduate School of Business
    Ralph Koijen, London Business School
    Toby Moskowitz, University of Chicago, Booth School of Business
    Lasse H. Pedersen (Chair), Copenhagen Business School
    Michael R. Roberts, Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania
    David S. Scharfstein, Harvard Business School
    Annette Vissing-Jørgensen, University of California, Berkeley

The page was last edited by: Center for Financial Frictions // 09/03/2018