Project Participants

Management Innovation for Sustainability (I4S)



The full title of this ITN proposal is "Research and Competence Training Network for Sustainability-Driven Innovation", henceforth to be referred to by the acronym “I4S”. Its overarching scientific objective is to train researchers who better understand the processes and practices that foster sustainability-driven innovation (“SDI”). Throughout this proposal, SDI is understood as a business contribution to sustainable development. As such, it is a direct response to the vision of a “smart, sustainable and inclusive” European economy set out in the EU’s ‘Europe 2020’ strategy. It recognises the ambition of ‘Horizon 2020’ – to harness scientific excellence and innovation with industrial leadership to promote growth and tackle societal challenges.SDI is seen as a supra-disciplinary field that requires research that goes beyond the limits of classical approaches to the study, management and regulation of innovation. SDI is supra-disciplinary because it is based on an integratedapproach to environmental, economic and social performance, it spans producers, consumers and other social interests, and it connects business and social innovation. It leads to the development of new business models and technologies that create and capture value for firms and European society. It requires a training in science together with a clear insight of the exigencies of practice. I4S sets out an innovative research training programme and research design to capture knowledge of how businesses contribute to, and participate in, SDI. It is in line with the current ambition of EU industrial and enterprise policy as understanding these processes and practices is critical if European member states, industrial sectors and other stakeholders are to contribute in a meaningful way to the European Commission’s current policy and objectives toward sustainable growth and long-term competitiveness.






Department of Intercultural Communication and Management

Collaborative partners:

University of Manchester, Vlerick Leuven Ghent Management School, University of Cape Town, Leuphana Universität Lüneburg, Nyenrode Business University, Erasmus University Rotterdam, University of Exeter, European Academy of Business in Society



Start Date:


End Date:


The page was last edited by: Dean's Office of Research