PhD defence: Jette Sandager

In order to obtain the PhD degree, Jette Sandager has submitted her thesis entitled: Glitter, Glamour, and the Future of (More) Girls in STEM: Gendered Formations of STEM Aspirations

Tuesday, June 14, 2022 - 09:30 to 11:30


With a focus on the different times and affects produced by current educational STEM policy, the thesis explores the formation of young women’s STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics) aspirations. As such, the thesis aims to understand the role played by policy – public as well as private – in solving the pressing issue of women’s low representation in STEM. The thesis argues that despite of policy’s attempts to produce positive STEM futures for young women, these temporal and affective productions have implications that might counter policy’s intentions of ensuring a greater representation of women in STEM

Primary Supervisor:
Associate Professor Justine Grønbæk Pors
Department of Management, Politics and Philosophy
Copenhagen Business School

Secondary Supervisors:
Professor Dorthe Staunæs
Department of Education
University of Aarhus

Senior Lecturer Signe Ravn
School of Social and Political Sciences
University of Melbourne

Assessment Committee:
Associate Professor Ana Maria Munar (Chair)
Department of Management, Politics and Philosophy
Copenhagen Business School

Professor and Dean of Research Sam Sellar
Department of Education Policy
University of South Australia

Professor Kathleen Riach
University of Glasgow
Adam Smith Business School

The thesis will be available from

The CBS PhD School will host a reception, which will take place immediately after the defence on the repos outside PH26_407

Organised by    CBS PhD School
Date 14 June 2022
Time 09:30-11:30
Location Copenhagen Business School
Porcelænshaven 14
2000 Frederiksberg
Room: PH26_407

It will also be possible to attend the defence via Microsoft Teams at the following link:

*Please note in connection with the online defence that the microphone and camera of all spectators must be turned off!


The page was last edited by: Sekretariat for Ledelse og Kommunikation // 07/11/2023